Blog — You Are With Me / U bent met mij

Abjan van Meerten
4 min readJan 30, 2022

Saturday morning I was having coffee with a good friend (mocha latte for me) and we were talking about our journeys with God. He noted that, even though I moved to the United States, this journey continues because God is the same. His place stays the same: at my side.

Later that day, this text from Psalm 139 grabbed my attention: “Where can I flee from your presence? (…) If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast” (vv. 7, 9–10). Whether it is in the Netherlands or in Louisville, God leads me and holds me, and he will never let go of me.

My relationship with him is what keeps me steady, even when my days can feel overwhelming — new people, new places, new life. But when I come to God, I find rest. As Psalm 23 says, he makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul (vv. 2–3).

Over the last few months I have been learning how to get away from distraction and busyness and be present with God — just be. Every day I can come to God and refresh my soul in his love for me. I need it, my soul needs it so much, and I invite you — he invites you to do the same. Let these words shape you:

“[Name,] I love you. I am for you, not against you.

I am with you. I will never leave you.

I help you. I care about you.

I love you so much.”

Speak these truths to yourself on a regular basis. As Paul prays for the Ephesians, may you be rooted and grounded in this love that surpasses knowledge (Eph 3:17–19). Rooted, like a tree beside a stream of life-giving water, whose leaves do not wither amid drought. Grounded, like a building founded on the rock, which does not waver amid storms.

From my notebook: breaking out of old patters to see God’s true heart

It can be so hard for our broken hearts to see God’s true heart for us — no condemnation, no rejection, no judgment, no anger, no disappointment, but open arms. He is proud of you no matter what. He invites you, every day, to come to him and find rest for your soul.

//

Nederlands:

Zaterdagochtend dronk ik koffie met een goeie vriend (mokka latte is mijn favoriet), en we praatten over onze ontdekkingen en ervaringen met God. Hij merkte op dat mijn relatie met God hetzelfde blijft, ook al was ik naar de Verenigde Staten verhuisd, omdat God hetzelfde blijft. Hij verhuist niet; Hij blijft altijd aan mijn zij.

Later op die dag kwam ik Psalm 139 tegen: ‘Waar kan ik Uw Geest ontgaan, waar Uw aangezicht ontvluchten? (…) Nam ik vleugels van de dageraad, woonde ik aan het einde van de zee, ook daar zou Uw hand mij leiden en Uw rechterhand mij vasthouden’ (vv. 7–10). Of het nou in Nederland is of in Louisville, God leidt me and houdt me vast, en Hij zal me nooit loslaten.

Mijn relatie met Hem is de stabiele factor, ook al kunnen dagen soms overweldigend voelen — nieuwe mensen, nieuwe plekken, een nieuw leven. Maar als ik bij God kom, vind ik rust. Zoals Psalm 23 zegt: ‘Hij doet mij neerliggen in grazige weiden, Hij leidt mij zachtjes naar stille wateren. Hij verkwikt mijn ziel’ (vv. 2–3).

Gedurende de laatste maanden heb ik steeds meer geleerd om me te onttrekken van afleiding en drukte en haast om bij God te zijn, echt aanwezig te zijn. Elke dag kan ik tot God komen en mijn ziel verkwikken in Zijn liefde. Ik heb het zo nodig, en ik nodig je uit — Hij nodigt je uit — om hetzelfde te doen. Laat deze woorden je vormen:

‘[Naam,] Ik houd van je. Ik ben voor je, niet tegen je.

Ik ben met je. Ik zal je nooit verlaten.

Ik help je. Ik geef om je.

Ik houd zoveel van jou.’

Spreek deze waarheden regelmatig tegen jezelf. Ik bid voor je, in de woorden van Paulus, dat je geworteld en gefundeerd mag zijn in de liefde die de kennis te boven gaat (Efeze 3:17, 19). Geworteld, als een boom, geplant aan een stroom van leven-gevend water, waarvan het blad niet afvalt. Gefundeerd, als een huis op de rots, dat niet wankelt temidden van stormen.

Het kan zo moeilijk zijn voor onze gebroken harten om Gods ware hart voor ons te zien — geen veroordeling, geen afwijzing, geen oordeel, geen woede, geen teleurstelling, maar open armen. Hij is trots op je, wat er ook gebeurt. Hij nodigt je uit, elke dag, om bij Hem te komen en rust te vinden voor je ziel.

--

--

Abjan van Meerten

Thoughts on the liberating theology of Paul and the universal love of God